|First Church of Christ (Center Church)|
Also called Center Church, it was built on the New Haven Green by Ithiel Town between 1812-1815. Today’s exterior is essentially the original design. Henry Austin first remodeled the interior in 1842. A unique historic crypt is located in the church basement bearing tombstones that date back to 1687. Tours are available by appointment.